The Bane Chronicles

8. July 2019 Off By lana88

 

 

 

 

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare

Published in English: 2014

Sideantal: 503

Forlag: Walker Books

ISBN: 978-1406361322

Finished Reading: July 2019

Genre: Young Adult & Fantasy

Stars: 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is my personal review without spoilers of the actual plot.

 


 

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material

 


 

Magnus Bane has always been my favorite alongside Tessa in the entire Shadowhunters universe. I’ve read The Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices and they were both amazing, so reading this brought back many memories from my time reading these, and at times, I nearly cried.

Seeing as this consists of a lot of small, not all of them can be as exciting or as romantic, so of course I got my favorites among here.

Alec and Bane is one of my favorite fictional gay couples only surpassed by Zero and Jude from Hit the Floor, so reading everything about them very crucial. Moreover, I wasn’t disappointed. It’s exactly as it should be. The writing is phenomenal, the romantic elements are in plain sight without becoming too sugar sweet and the whole feel is just spot on.

As for the other stories, it was nice to get to know Bane on a much deeper level than we did in the two-mega series of Clare. He becomes more real, we get to see his flaws and his strength.

The humor is something different than I’m used to, especially from Tessa. She was actually funny and I missed her. The Infernal Devices is the best Fantasy series I’ve ever read, so getting an insight into how she’s doing was worth more than gold. The only reason why I’m not giving this five stars is because of some of the short stories were a little plain and boring, but if you find them boring too, no one is forcing you to finish them. Skip if you fancy.

After finishing this, I feel like rereading the series again. I didn’t expect to be missing the World of Shadowhunters and Downworlders so much. Even though the idea was very basic, there’s just something magical about the universe she’s created.

I don’t see the big deal that’s she’s milking the cow for a bit, as they say. If you didn’t like the universe to begin with why go through the trouble of looking up, what’s Cassandra Clare has made afterwards. I for one like what’s she’s done with the material that came after the finish of her two series, the information we lacked from them, we got in this material she released subsequently.